Gwnewch y pethau bychain

Category: Blog Page 131 of 141

Everything I Ever Needed To Know, I Learned From My Cat

Life is hard and then you nap.

Curiosity never killed anything except maybe a few hours.

Variety is the spice of life: One day ignore people, the next day annoy them, and play with them when they’re busy.

Climb your way to the top — that’s why the drapes are there.

Never sleep alone when you can sleep on someone’s face.

Make your mark in the world — or at least spray in each corner.

When you go out into the world, always remember, being placed on a pedestal is a right, not a privilege.

Make love loudly and have your babies quietly.

(found unattributed on USENET)

Word Origins

Found this very cool etymology website today, and thought I would share:

http://www.wordorigins.org/thelist.htm

Two of Dave

This was an instafilk that came out on #filkhaven. filkerdave was lamenting being unable to attend OVFF due to a scheduling conflict, and maedbh7 said she was continuing to “work on that cloning device, so there can be two of Dave”. This just sorta flowed out.

Two of Dave
by Robert Wynne
TTTO: “Yesterday” (Lennon/McCartney)

Two of Dave
One to pass around, and one to save
For whenever you can’t fight that crave
It’s useful to have two of Dave

Suddenly
Dave is twice the man he used to be
Clone him one more time and you’d have three
To offer up for company

Which one is the clone?
Which is real? I couldn’t say.
They’re both just alike,
right down to the DNA

Two of Dave
One more than his lovely mother gave
And we give to each a joyous rave
review for two, who both are Dave

In response to my last entry, someone asked:

How about a search on “Random Insult Generator”? No shortage of hits with that one!

Yeah, but are they SURREAL insults? I mean, anyone can insult someone without much imagination.

I did, however, enjoy finding the Random Renaissance Insult Generator, which provided me with “THOU BOOTLESS SHEEP-BITING HEDGE-PIG!” and “THOU INFECTIOUS FLAP-MOUTHED VARLET!” (which sounds awfully Yosimite-Samish).

When you just can’t find the right words…

…the Surrealist Compliment Generator…

Here I go again…

I never used to get ear infections. I’m not sure why this summer I’m so susceptible.

Last weekend while visiting Shadow and Kender, I went through a period where I wasn’t feeling very good myself, which resulted in a four to five hour nap in the middle of Saturday afternoon. I had a sinus headache, which isn’t too uncommon, but I also felt some twinges in my left ear, and I thought “Oh, great, not that again.” I resolved myself to make a doctor’s appointment Monday morning if it didn’t stop. But it did.

Friday morning, however, it began to hurt again, and much more fiercely than last weekend. I called my doctor’s scheduling line, and they said “He’s all booked up this afternoon. We can fit you in Monday, or we can maybe squeeze you in at <one of several inconvenient locations>. This made me unhappy, since I had a feeling that by Monday I was going to be in pretty bad shape. So instead I drove down to my doctor’s office (it’s impossible to get them on the phone) to see if maybe they could squeeze me in, or at least write me a prescription for the same antibiotics I had last time (I still had painkillers left over from last time). After a bit of negotiation, they agreed to slip me on the schedule at 4pm, so I went home for a little while, then drove back. (My doctor’s office is only about 5 miles from my apartment.)

After all the preliminaries (my blood pressure is back down to normal, which is good), Dr. K. came in and took a look, and we talked about what we did last time. He ended up writing me another round of the antibiotics series that Dr. B. gave me last time, and told me to come back in a week.

The infection is not as bad right now as it was when I first went in last time, so I’m confidant it WON’T be as bad an ordeal as in July. And this time I have the painkillers to start with, which will decrease the suffering, though it make sit very very hard to think straight. I’m hoping to be back to normal (well, as normal as I get) by Monday.

In better news, I booked my tickets for OVFF today. kitanzi and I will be arriving on Thursday morning and leaving Monday afternoon. We’re both really looking forward to the convention. It’s exciting partly because I am the Interfilk guest, but even more importantly, it will mark the one year anniversary of us getting together. We’re gonna go snuggle up on that same couch in the lobby Thursday night, and hopefully have another “Live #filkhaven” gathering. What better way to celebrate an anniversary than to be surrounded by a few hundred of our closest family and friends, making music and joy and laughter together? I can’t wait!

Today’s Mutts

I read a lot of comic strips. Every now and again, one is so perfect I have to share it. I give you Patrick McDonnell’s Mutts for September 12, 2002:

Customer No-Service

I have never in my life encountered so much resistance from a company i was TRYING to give money to.

Let me preface this entry by saying that I’ve by and large been very happy with Sprint PCS as a cell phone provider. They give me a metric ton of minutes for a very reasonable price, including long-distance. (The cellphone was an absolute sanity-saver when kitanzi and I were still dating long-distance.) I’ve had very few service issues in the time I’ve had the phone, almost a year now.

So today I went to pay my bill. Shouldn’t be a big deal, there’s a store not far from my office, on the way to lots of good stuff to eat, so I decided I’d swing by there on the way to having lunch with my co-worker, Aileen. Stopped by the store and they said “Sorry, we can’t take any payments now, the computers are down.”

Well, that happens. No big deal, I figured I’d just drop by when we got done with lunch. So we proceeded down to Schlotzsky’s Deli for lunch and conversation, then dropped back by to see if the computers were back up. “Yes they are, but you need to make the payment in the self-service kiosk.”

This rather annoys me, since if I’d wanted to do it all myself, I could have done it on the web and saved a trip. But I dutifully go over to the kiosk, wait in line for five minutes while watching the two “customer service” reps sit doing nothing. I finally get to the screen, enter the appropriate data, and it says “Enter your password”. Um, I don’t have a password, and without one, it only wants to accept cash, not a check. So I go over to the CSR, who tells me the password and sends me back to the computer. It still doesn’t offer to let me pay by check. I inform the CSR of this, and she looks me in the eye and with a straight face, utters the most absurd thing I’ve heard today:

“Well, i can process your payment, but there will be a five dollar charge.”

So, in order to hand my check to a human being, I have to pay an extra five bucks? This is customer service?

I shouldn’t be surprised. They also charge you three dollars to speak to a human being on their customer service line. I think my exact response was “You’ve got to be kidding me?” After being informed that no, this was not her idea of a droll prank, I muttered, “I *don’t* have time for this” and stalked out.

Aileen did her best to remind me that it was a beautiful sunny day and that it wasn’t worth being too upset about, so by the time I got back to the office, I was mostly calm. I went to the Sprint webpage, logged in, and submitted my payment in short order. Next time I’ll just do that the first time.

But am I the only person who finds it morbidly amusing that a communications company is going through so much trouble to prevent you from ever actually talking to them?

Looking forward

Everyone else is talking about it. Why not be a lemming.

Something about today disturbs me. I think I even know what it is. It’s the sensationalism masquerading as remembrance. It’s the jingoism masquerading as patriotism. It’s the superficial masquerading as the solemn.

I don’t have a problem with remembering the terrible human tragedy that occurred a year ago today. I think it would do us all good to pause and reflect on how terrible events can bring us together, and to remember what we learned, as a nation, as a community, as a people, about the world.

But I also think we should spend more time looking forward, not looking back.

We should spend more time making grand plans and executing them, inviting our souls and being creative, and living life to the fullest.

We should spend more time doing small, special things for our friends, our family, our loved ones.

We should spend more time laughing, and making music, and increasing the joy in the people around us.

We should spend more time helping each other, and holding each other, and saying “I love you” to each other.

Because at the end of the day, each other is all we ever really have.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch

Gosh, it’s been a long time since I posted anything moderately useful. I really should get back into the swing of things here.

The truth is, life has settled down into a nice, comfortable pace, and that doesn’t tend to leave much grist for the mill. This is not a BAD thing. kitanzi and I both put a lot of value into our creature comforts, and excitement is largely overrated. But there have been some newsworthy things lately.

Page 131 of 141

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén